Home Page





The school intends to ensure the breadth, balance and relevance of the curriculum is at the forefront of any planning.  It is the intention of the staff that every pupil will be given the opportunity to develop to their potential.



The school curriculum policy is based on the requirements of the N Ireland Curriculum 2007.  From September 2005 the SENDO (NI) Order increased the rights of parents and children with Special Educational Needs to choose and access mainstream schools.



It is planned to provide a full selection of worthwhile learning experiences to enable each child to grow and develop intellectually, socially, emotionally, physically and spiritually.




Stages Of The Primary Curriculum


Years 1 and 2                                   :                                 Foundation Stage

Years 3 and 4                                   :                                 Key Stage One

Years 5, 6 and 7                               :                                 Key Stage Two


The Structure of the Curriculum


The Curriculum for the three stages is set out in six Areas of Learning.


(1)     Language and Literacy (including Talking and Listening and Reading and Writing).


(2)     Mathematics and Numeracy (focusing on the development of mathematical concepts and     numeracy across the curriculum)


(3)     The Arts (including Art and Design, Drama and Music)


(4)     The World Around Us (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and                      understanding in Geography, History and Science and Technology).


(5)     Personal Development and Mutual Understanding (focusing on emotional development,      social skills, learning to learn, health, relationships and sexuality education and mutual   understanding in the local and global community).


(6)     Physical Education (focusing on the development of knowledge, skills and understanding   through play and a range of physical activities).


Although the Areas of Learning are set out separately, very often teachers will integrate learning across the six areas making relevant connections for children.






Religious Education is a compulsory part of the Northern Ireland Curriculum, although parents have the right to withdraw their child from part or all of R E or collective worship.  Schools have to provide R E in accordance with the core syllabus drawn up by the four main churches and specified by the Department of Education.


Within the Areas of Learning emphasis will be placed on the development of skills and personal capabilities.


The Cross Curricular Skills:


  • communication
  • using mathematics
  • using information and communications technology


Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities:


  • thinking, problem-solving and decision making
  • self management
  • working with others
  • managing information
  • being creative


Teachers will be attempting to provide this curriculum using a variety of teaching methods.  However we like to think your child will be taught as an individual often in a small group, within a mixed-ability class.


Throughout the learning process the teachers will be constantly assessing your child’s work so that future lessons can be planned incorporating the learning needs of the pupils.  In this manner staff will be encouraging an Assessment for Learning approach.



Any questions parents may have about the curriculum content will be answered at the parent induction meetings, parental interviews or by appointment with the Principal.